English Bay

English Bay sky; interesting building by the water

English Bay sky; interesting building by the water

When we visit Vancouver, we usually stay at the Sands Best Western in English Bay. It is a beautiful neighbourhood for casual morning walks (obviously accompanied by casual photo-taking) and it is an area dense with cute boutiques and restaurants. There are always new shops to explore. The ocean and gorgeous mountains may seem like minor details, but they truly make all the difference.

The Red Umbrella; dad and his omelette; my beautiful latte

The Red Umbrella; dad and his omelette; my beautiful latte

One morning I was really craving eggs so we decided to try out The Red Umbrella, only one block from the hotel. One must not be fooled by the mediocre exterior and the cafeteria-style tables and layout, because the food was delicious and –most importantly– the coffee was up to standards. I would go back there for breakfast any time.

English Bay beach; The Boathouse Fish & Chips

English Bay beach; The Boathouse Fish & Chips

After our breakfast, my dad had to go back to the hotel to finish some work. I decided to go walk around for a while. At one point I turned a corner and saw The Boathouse Fish & Chips Restaurant. Though I am not a fan of fish and chips, I love this place. The deck offers a beautiful view of the bay, but I mostly love it because of the great memories it has hosted. When turning the corner and seeing The Boathouse, I couldn’t help tearing up.The last time we ate there was last summer, during my grandpa’s last visit from Quebec before he passed away. That was a wonderful evening: enjoying the sunset from the deck while eating our fish & chips and laughing and bonding as a family. Because of great memories, I love The Boathouse. I love English Bay.

 

What do you think?

