Perspective: Kettle Valley Village

rainLR-2logo

The Kettle Valley Neighbourhood in Kelowna (I live here)

Sometimes the adventure is right outside your house.

It is pouring rain and the sky has been growling. I just got home. I decided to go for a bike ride in this weather. No raincoat. Just a t-shirt, shorts, and sandals.

Yes, I got some weird looks. A girl biking and laughing in the pouring rain isn’t the norm. But that doesn’t mean it shouldn’t be done!

It was an incredible experience. Rejuvenating. Being the witness of a beautiful phenomena. The Earth cleansing, moisturizing. And I was right in the middle of it.

I try to practice what I preach. I’ve blogged about seeing things from a different perspective. I’ve said that situations are what we make of them. So today, instead of looking at the rain from the comfort of my home, I experienced it.

I appreciated it in a whole new way. I’d encourage everyone to try this. It is a lot of fun.

It makes you feel freeeeeeeeeeee

Rainy days also make for interesting photos!

Rainy days also make for interesting photos!

rainLR-3logo

When I got home, my brother welcomed me with our family's video camera. A bit embarrassing. I got him to snap this photo.

When I got home, my brother welcomed me with our family’s video camera. A bit embarrassing. I got him to snap this photo.

I love rain.

I love rain.

When I got home, I made myself a Rainy Day Salad. I don’t know if that’s a real thing, I just made it up.

Anyways, making it was easy peasy lemon squeezy… Though it didn’t involve peas or squeezed lemons.

1) Sauté some mushrooms and green onions with a drop of coconut oil.

2) Add some red peppers (or any colour you want) that are cut however you want. I diced mine.

3) Cut some left over pork (or chicken, or whatever is in your fridge) into bite size pieces and dump it in the pan.

4) Throw in a handful of spinach leaves. (My mom used to pronounce it “Spynak”… Thought I’d share that with you)

5) Pour everything into a bowl.

6) Mix in diced avocado and tomato.

Done. At this point you can add salt and pepper if you want. I don’t, but I respect your life choices…

Happy rain!

rainLR-7logo

Rainy Day Salad

8 thoughts on “Perspective: Kettle Valley Village

  1. ARGH I MISS YOU SO MUCH EMILIE!!!! You are such a genuine and beautiful soul. I love that you can find beauty and positivity to absolutely everything. All I’ve been hearing lately is how bad the weather is (both in kelowna and victoria) but it was so nice to read your post about embracing it rather than complaining! Lately, I have set a personal goal to become more grateful for everything and everyone in my life, and your blog is a reminder of exactly this. I am so lucky to have truly inspiring people like you in my life. I will always hold you very near and dear to my heart! Loving your blog so much!

    • My dear Janele,
      thank you so much for this encouraging message. Just the fact that you are reading my blog means so much to me, you are such a supportive friend. I really really hope to make it down to Victoria before the big move to Toronto, I will keep you updated for sure… And if not, well I guess you’ll just have to come to T.O.!!!
      Love you so much, em

What do you think?

