Let’s Get Personal

What do I want, really?

I want a big library with books and books and even more books. I want to live in a city in a loft with high ceilings and windows and brick walls and wood floors and a living room that is also a studio where I can paint and my husband can play music. I want to travel and work in orphanages and see the world and the many beautiful cultures. I want to document my travels and mainly just write all the time about everything. I want to go to Ecuador or Nicaragua or somewhere to teach English or French or art or anything else for a year as I perfect my Spanish. I want to graduate university with new and better work habits where I am organized and don’t wait until the last minute to get things done. I want to live in real life: where Facebook isn’t the first thing I think of when I take a picture or accomplish something or a major event occurs. Instead I’ll think of printing the photo to hang it on my wall, and I’ll think of calling my grandma or friend to tell the news. I want to act with love, patience and compassion towards everyone. I want to write letters and mail them to my friends for their birthdays. I want to take a stranger out for coffee and learn from him and be inspired. I want to collect music and tea and have tea-drinking-music-listening gatherings. I want to learn guitar and write a song and sing it to someone I love. I want to live.

I want to really live.

What do you want?

11 thoughts on “Let’s Get Personal

  1. Happy tears on the inside. thanks Emilie!! yes wow I miss you omg let’s go to Nicaragua. Also a list of some personal wants: to grow plants, to carve stone, to attend school in Toronto next September, to talk on the phone with you.

  2. I love this, I love this, ….. I love YOU! xxx What great thoughts and dreams (specially the one on “calling my grandma” haha)! Bravo Émilie, j’ai vraiment apprécié cette belle lecture!

    • Thanks grandma! I tried to write something heartfelt, which always takes a bit more guts… especially when it is people you know that are going to read it!

    • Thanks! It comes in waves. At the moment, I’m waiting to catch the next one.. Inspiration seems to go into hiding when I’ve got too much stress going on (Finals are coming up!!) But hopefully soon I’ll be surfing on those metaphorical waves again haha🙂

  3. Une vie paisible et enrichissante en somme. Pareil pour moi, sans toutefois le besoin d’avoir un chez-moi quelque part, mais pleins de points de chute à travers le monde. Mais voyager, créer et partager, ce sont en effet de nobles aspirations, les seules qui devraient compter!

    • T’as bien raison ! Merci🙂 (T’écris très bien en Français, en passant. Moi je manque un peu de pratique malheureusement !)

What do you think?

